New Fair Isle patterns

I have been knitting up a few simple Fair Isle cowls and headbands recently in preparation for teaching Fair Isle during this winter in the local primary school. I learnt Fair Isle from some marvellous and generous ladies and now want to do the same.

I am feeling a mixture of excitement and nerves! I certainly don’t think I’m expert at Fair Isle though I am experienced! Having been dabbling in Fair Isle knitting since a cold and wet Easter holiday with an aunt in the mid 1970’s I have continued to knit Fair Isle throughout my life. I love using colours, so interesting I find the process.

With cowls and headbands there’s no steeking though most other key skills are used, casting on, off and increasing and decreasing.

A small item like this can be a colour experiment for a larger garment too, and with the weather now cooling down in Shetland, who doesn’t need a woolly accessory!

My first class begins in January, after I have finished my Christmas knitting! The Christmas colours cowl is available on my Ravelry Emily Poleson Designs – Top of the Skorde

4 thoughts on “New Fair Isle patterns

    • Relaxing with the two colours of wool on same row is important, as pulling too tight isn’t good – that’s probably my first tip. Lace knitting probably daunted me but getting a bit more familiar with this now. Good luck!

  1. I have seen evidence that you are, indeed, an expert! My favorite is the XOX one in purple and red. These look like good winter gear for Shetland.

Leave a Reply

