Ronas Voe Jumper is complete

Ronas Voe Jumper by Shetlandhandknitter (2)Christopher and ScruffyDSCF2375Elvis and ScruffyRonas Voe Jumper with hood upRonas Voe Jumper made with Shetland Heritage woolRonas Voe Jumper Ronas Voe Jumper photographed looking out on Ronas Voe from HeylorRonas Voe Jumper is complete

Pictures taken by me last night at Da Blade in Heylor, Northmavine, Shetland. Worn by Christopher, my son, who kindly agreed to do this for me! Two of our cats decided to join in the photo session. Elvis is our black and white cat and Scruffy is the fluffy red and white cat. We love our cats!
The jumper was hand knitted from Fair Isle charts using the Jamieson and Smith Shetland Heritage wool. It is a very nice wool which is smooth and very soft and was ideal for the Fair Isle work in this design. I hope you like it!

25 thoughts on “Ronas Voe Jumper is complete

    • Thank you for your praise. I have not written any patterns of my work but would like to do so at some point but don’t have much time. I find that as I am working full-time that I like to spend time knitting and gardening in my free time relaxing with these hobbies. Though, I would like to offer patterns too, but I have been procrastinating in familiarising myself with software to do it! I can send you some tips on what I have done in this jumper as if you are experienced in Fair Isle it should be fairly okay to understand. I promise I will aim to do a pattern eventually!

      • Ah, I’m similar – knitting is fun and making up patterns is lovely, but writing them down for other people and having to check everything lots of times is work!

        This is absolutely beautiful, though – well done! And you can see in the hood that the wrong side is nearly as beautiful as the right side. If it is a present for your son, I hope he appreciates it!

      • Many thanks for your comments. It is good to have someone who understands! I made the jumper for myself though I have offered it for him but he found it a little tight on the sleeves for comfort! I actually wore it last week for the first time at a graduation in Lerwick, Shetland as I graduated with a Post Graduate Certificate in Teaching in Higher Education from the University of the Highlands and Islands. I chose to wear ‘traditional dress’! I have worn gowns before and fancied a change, it was appreciated in the audience I think, by the positive comments. Many people though don’t know the difference between hand-made and machine which I find interesting and a little sad even (considering I am in Shetland that is).

      • I attended a designing class during last year’s Wool Week, which gave me the courage to try and design something other than mittens and hats (a vest). It’s not as hard as I thought, although quite time consuming. And with the help from an experience tech. editor, it came out quite well, I think.

      • I was at the same class – the one that Kate Davies presented?! It was very useful and it did indeed give confidence and inspiration in making patterns. I really need to find the time now to do at least one pattern – it would need to be a less ambitious one I think such as a beret or glove pattern to start off with.
        I don’t have anyone to help me with tech. editor side of things but maybe someone in the islands can help me if I pluck up the courage to get on with doing a pattern design.
        It would be another interesting skill to gain after all!
        Thank you again for praise and encouraging comments.

  1. That is one of the most beautiful sweaters I have ever seen. I would order the patter and yarn right now if there was one! The hoody addition is especially nice. The colors…everything. I wonder if there is a pattern out there that I could buy. You are so very talented

    • If you lived local to me I would coach you to knit it but I guess you aren’t as I live in Shetland. I have never written a pattern (yet) but if you have a Fair Isle pattern book and the shades of wool used as I have then you could get started! Though I appreciate that I don’t understand your knitting abilities so this is perhaps ridiculous to say. I hope eventually to write some pattern/s but I would need to start off slow with a hat pattern I feel. I do work full time in education so naturally I feel keen to pass on my skills to anyone who is keen, so if I can help I could aim to give some tips and hints over e-mail at ecpoleson@live.co.uk
      Thank you so much for your very generous praise, Emily

    • Hoody is simple to do – just do your usual shaping as if a crew neck sweater then increase quite a bit – you could count the patterns you see on my picture and knit a generous amount of depth – you can make a mistake with hoods by not knitting enough. Hoods take a lot of knitting please be warned and if not generous enough in size then will look silly when used as it will tug the head and neck. When you get to the hood stage then give me a shout!

    • Many thanks Shelly, I remember you visiting our islands last October for the wool week – I was at one of the workshops – the design of the hat from Shetland Heritage wool. I hope you enjoyed your trip. The edging is known as corrugated ribbing. Two plain and two purl basically with the changing of colours every couple of rows.

Leave a Reply

