More Heylor Gloves

Heylor, Northmavine, ShetlandRonas Hill, NorthmavineRonas Voe, Northmavine, ShetlandShetlandhandknitter - Heylor GlovesI have really enjoyed making up these gloves from this simple, yet effective old Fair Isle pattern. I’ve made up three pairs of gloves using a variety of colour schemes. The ones with the dark brown fingers are from Jamieson and Smith Shetland Supreme jumper weight wool which is not dyed. I like these as the wool is so cosy.

In the fingerless ones I used main colour from Jamieson’s Shetland Spindrift range – Raspberry as the main colour. The other pair is also using a main colour from the same range and I have used Nighthawk as the main colour.
Heylor is in the Shetland islands in the north mainland in the parish of Northmavine. It is a very scenic area with a long seven mile voe – Ronas Voe and the red granite cliffs on the opposite side where Ronas Hill can be accessed are truly breath-taking.

5 thoughts on “More Heylor Gloves

  1. These are lovely, and a great use of colour. Its interesting to see how the colours can effect the pattern. My friends and I spent New Years Eve up North in Heylor, its beautiful up there!

    • Hi Amy, many thanks for your comments. The wide variety of shades that we have in Shetland wool is fantastic for working in Fair Isle. Drop along if you are up and about in Heylor again! Yes, it is a truly bonny spot in Shetland to stay in, in all the seasons.
      Emily

      • Hi Janie,

        I have written up the pattern for these as gloves. I had it test knitted by one lady who I gave me some constructive comments, and I would be willing to share the pattern with you once I tweak it in a very minor way.
        You can contact me via email and I can send the attachment on for you to try out and give me feedback on too?

        Emily

Leave a Reply

