Shetland Heritage Wool – my first jumper creation ‘Ronas Voe’

A view of Ronas Voe taken from the roadside near Nebbiegeo 2012

A view of Ronas Voe taken from the roadside near Nebbiegeo 2012

 

 Heylor, Ronas Voe in Northmavine.

Heylor, Ronas Voe in Northmavine.

Ronas Voe jumper in progress - by Shetlandhandknitter

Ronas Voe jumper in progress – by Shetlandhandknitter
Shetland Heritage wool used in Ronas Voe - Shetlandhandknitter

Shetland Heritage wool used in Ronas Voe – Shetlandhandknitter

I am enjoying working with this quality of wool from Jamieson and Smith. It is so soft and incredibly smooth and will be lovely to wear I am sure. It is made from Shetland wool. I am using all six of the colours from the palette that are available for sale at the moment though I have read that the range available will be expanded in the coming months with another twleve shades. That’ll be great! I am using the lightest colour for the main colour in this design called ‘fluggy white’. I have used traditional oxo patterns with a small peerie repeat in between which is quite a tradtional style and it is easy to knit up. The oxo pattern is a 26 stitch repeat and it is surprising how quickly my brain remembers the patterns. I am going to have a modern twist with the upper section – still working it out in my mind – but watch this space! It will be ready hopefully by the time the clocks change over for the lighter nights when British Summer Time begins- then the knitting will slow down as the outside work takes over.
Today we have some snow showers and the ground is really hard from overnight frost so I think it is the perfect day to get in the steeks as I have got to the length for the arm holes to be placed, once I get the stew onto the hob of course!
I have named my design Ronas Voe after the seven mile long ‘voe’ in Northmavine at the north of the Shetland islands. The scenery in Ronas Voe is spectacular with a range of different colours and near to the mouth of the ‘voe’ you see the red granite sheer cliffs contrasting with the seas blue.

